Hitchhiker

It’s the day after memorial day and I saw a very old man in uniform hitchhiking on a country road near my hometown. I picked him up and noticed an airborne badge. Judging from his appearance, he could’ve been from the WW2 era and I was interested to hear any story he might have to tell. However, he wasn’t forthcoming with conversation, so I got it started. “I see your badge. Were you with the 101st airborne?”

He chuckled a bit and said, “No, I collect and trade old uniforms and other things. Records and other stuff.” He also mentioned that he has marched in a few parades over the years.

If he’d been a young man using the uniform to get money or impress women, I’d have been upset, but this guy made me smile. An old man playing dressup to march in parades and hitchhike.

